The forest

30 Apr

After just a van, a 90 minutes of lines, a half hour delay, 45 minutes of air time, another van, a mall and one last van, I have finally touched down in Gubat, which means Forest in Tagalog, my new home for the next 12 months. I plan to walk around tomorrow and aquaint myself with this amazing space. As I drove in, I couldn’t believe the colours in front of me. Bright yellow houses, blue office buildings, bright pink bus stops (waiting sheds) and of course the luscious green of palm trees in their natural environment with rice paddies, banana trees and grass grass grass everywhere!

I am not sure how I will face Manila again after living here. I had a serious moment last night of wondering how I would be able to handle all of this. I knew it would be hard, but it was heartbreaking to see people sleeping in the streets, children doing whatever it takes to get a peso from tourists and old ladies holding cups up to air conditioners to capture some drops of water. You see different levels of this kind of poverty all throughout the world, but the Filipino phenomena of endless shopping malls in every neighbourhood makes it so much more pronounced. This incredible level of poverty exists alongside the most empty kind of consumerism and I am not sure how to begin to deal with it.

The best way for now is to breathe in the beautiful provincial air, where the smells are so familiar even after nearly 10 years of being away and enjoy the huge smiles of the local people, especially when they hear my accent for the first time. I’m not sure I will ever stop enjoying that reaction.

20120430-224313.jpg

Blake's bday cake - perfect

20120430-224323.jpg

Pinoy skatepark in intramuros

20120430-224355.jpg

My first view of Mt Mayan

20120430-224403.jpg

My first dinner with the LGU - love them for all the vego options!!

20120430-224337.jpg

My baby 2nd cuz

20120430-225214.jpg

A few weeks of food supplies and about $30 excess baggage. Well worth it.

One Response to “The forest”

  1. Lease May 1, 2012 at 6:15 am #

    How I enjoy getting to work and starting my day with your posts kaz.
    A quick moment of clarity where everything gets put in perspective. If only it lasted longer than 5 minutes where my graphic designer comes in complaining on how her boyfriends bed sheets aren’t made from Egyptian cotton and have a low thread count… arrr first world problems.

    Keep the posts coming 🙂

Leave a Reply

