Cross cultural moments #3

31 May

Mayor to Aileen: “The best way for Karen to learn Tagalog and Bicol is to get a local boyfriend”

Barangay Paradi-Jon Capitan: “Karen, do you miss your boyfriend? Oh you do? I’ll find you a local boyfriend so you don’t miss him anymore”

Everybody I ever meet ever: “Do you have a husband? I have a son/nephew//grandson/cousin/family friend/neighbour/guy I just saw down the street who you could marry!”

Oh my poor actual boyfriend back home buying me yoghurt cultures and iron supplements and quinoa. Don’t worry, my hair is too messy for marriage.

Leave a Reply

