Full moons, habagat winds and present moment consciousness

1 Aug

Tomorrow night is the full moon in Philippines and right now it’s the season of habagat – not sure of the exact translation but it’s a super super windy season. This is a pretty terrible combination. Winds can make people restless and flighty and the full moon can send people a bit crazy. Case in point: today I laughed sporadically but loudly and wholeheartedly for 3 hours thinking of what often goes wrong when you’re singing the happy birthday song in a group setting.

I also did my yoga practice today while trying to self-time my camera so my teachers at home can see what I’m working with and now my back hurts. I was trying to clean up my room while texting and my fave nail polish fell on the ground, smashed and died. Before I finished cleaning this up, I decided it was a good time to find my toe ring that literally got kicked off my foot into the abyss of the end of my bed, never to be seen again. Which then meant I had to seriously clean up the nail polish mess with nail polish remover and then take off my spoilt polish. Boo-urns.

But when I rode my bike to my little restaurant (a little way on the left side just to feel at home) and I felt the wind in my face and listened to conversation grow loud then soft again as I rode past and saw flashes of street doggy eyes before they turned and waited on the side of the road until I went by, I felt truly in the present moment. I just let all this sensations come on and go just as quickly and felt truly content. Even under a full moon and with habagat winds blowing all around me, all it takes is the stillness of your own awareness to ground you.

Luckily I still have 6 nail polishes to practice my awareness on…

My rooftop yoga shala. If I didn’t have yoga, I would be pretty crazy living out here on my own

Leave a Reply

